Summer Reflections

For the two or three who read this blog, I apologize for my lack of faithfulness in writing this summer.  I promise, I’ll get back on it as the school year returns!

This summer has been very different from last summer, mostly because I know more about what I’m doing now than I did then.  It’s also been a summer of reflecting on what has happened in the last 365 days, a year that has changed so much in my life.

For one thing, I am absolutely convinced that I am living in the center of God’s will for me right now.  I know that chaplaincy, and particularly here at ONU, is where I should be.  It’s a feeling that I’ve felt before, when I’ve been able to clear away the clutter from my life and listen carefully to God’s call, but I’ve felt it much more clearly in the last year. 

Another reflection that has come to me this summer is that I am so grateful for quiet times–like the long days on campus when the students are all at home and at large in the world–but I really do long for times when I have people around me, students poking their heads in my office, and constant coffee meetings and one to ones.  Those who know me well will be surprised by this, since I’m such an introvert, but what I’ve described above fits well with my introverted nature.  As long as my interactions are spaced out throughout the day, and involve either small groups or one to one interactions, I’m fine–and I actually  miss the hum of the campus when students aren’t here.

So, I’m really looking forward to the students returning to campus.  I’ve missed them, and while it’s been good to reflect and get ready, now I’m ready and I want to get going.  That’s why I’m looking forward to this weekend, when I get to go on retreat with my student staff.  It will be a time of learning, planning, and most of all–fun.  And I know that it’s just the beginning of what this year will have in store for me, for our campus ministry, and for our campus. 

Peace,

David

2 comments on “Summer Reflections

  1. Ursula says:

    Thanks for this inspiring reflection. I do not belong to the two or three who read this blog but happened to stumble upon it. And yes, I am happy to leave it feeling inspired as it resonates with me. Thanks and Keep up the good work – Ursula

Leave a Reply

