I Carried My Umbrella Today…

…so of course it’s not raining anymore.  It’s one of those ironies of life.

But what a beautiful day it has turned out to be!  The sun is now shining, there’s what looks like a light breeze blowing, and I’m sure there are birds chirping in the trees.  I say all this because I don’t really know, since I’m sitting in my office right now and the windows don’t really open.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my office, and I love the view I have of the chapel garden, but some days I just want to be outside.  Maybe today is a day for walking around campus, seeing who I bump into, and striking up a conversation–that is a frightening prospect for an introvert like me, but exactly what I envision a chaplain ought to be doing.  So, don’t be surprised if I’m not sitting behind my desk this afternoon.

Today is a great day, at least where I am.  I am sure that if you are not in a place where the weather is as lovely as it is here, that it is still a great day, too.  Every day has the potential for greatness, if we can only discover where that greatness lies.

Have a day,

David

Leave a Reply

